South Fife Study Day: Burntisland & Aberdour
Join our Tayside and East Fife Group in exploring Burntisland and Aberdour!
Venue: Meet outside Burntisland railway station, Forth Place KY3 9DR
Time: 10.30 – 16.30
Cost: £10 (excl. lunch)
This study day will be led by Euan McCulloch & John Beaton and will include visits to Burntisland Parish Church, walkabouts in Burntisland and Aberdour, the Woodside Hotel and The Murrell.
Burntisland Parish Church is “one of the finest 16th century post-Reformation churches in Scotland”. Woodside, William Lambie Moffatt, 1872, incorporates 1913 Doune Hall and the barrel-vaulted stained glass ceiling of the smoking room of the Clyde built SS Orontes, brought here 1926.
The Murrell, 1908, is a remarkable small Arts & Crafts country house, designed by Frank W Deas as his own home. A fascinating and important ensemble: a modest house but with an extensive range of supporting facilities, attention to craft materials & detail, the influence of Lorimer (his great friend) and wonderful terraced gardens.
Come by train to Burntisland (let us know as lifts needed thereafter) or bring your own car. Lunch is at the Woodside (pay them directly).
The Woodside Hotel, Aberdour by Marion Haworth, CC BY-SA 2.0BACK