West Perthshire Study Day – part II
Join our Tayside and East Fife for an outing to Gleneagles House & Colquhalzie!
Venue: Meet at Gleneagles House, near Auchterarder PH3 1PJ
Time: 11.00 – 15.30
This study day will be led by Adam Swan and will include visits to Gleneagles House and Chapel and to Colquhalzie.
Gleneagles House is fascinating and has a complicated history. The original 17th century house remains as the east-part of the present elongated house. In 1750 it was proposed to build a new Palladian mansion and a pair of flanking pavilions was built but the main block was not. The east pavilion and original house were extended, altered and heightened to form the current house and are linked by a wooden veranda to the west pavilion. In 2001 Hurd Rolland added a pavilion roofed conservatory. Nearby is the early 16th century chapel, restored by Reginald Fairlie 1925-26 and reroofed 1995. The ruin of the late 15th century Gleneagles Castle is to the north of the chapel.
Colquhalzie is an incredibly charming small classical country house, dating from 1729, set in substantial grounds near the River Earn. Wings were added in 1826 (by William Stirling of Dunblane) and 1929 (by Stewart & Paterson). To the west is the classical stable block of 1837, incorporating earlier work of 1697.
Visit based on using own cars. Bring a picnic lunch or café options in Auchterarder.
Gleneagles House by Tom Parnell | CC BY-SA 2.0