Photography Competition Winners Announced

Photography Competition Winners Announced


The winners of the photographic competition, organised by the local group of AHSS as part of the Festival of Architecture 2016, were announced at the opening of an exhibition at the Mill on the Fleet, Gatehouse, on Saturday 29 October.  The exhibition, which moves on to Dumfries Museum on 1 December, features the winning photographs together with a short piece of text describing why the entrant likes the building.

In the under 15 age group, three prizes were awarded and two further entries were highly commended by the judges.  The winners were:

First Prize:           Rosie Norman for a photo of the Kirkandrews Bathing House

Second Prize:     Rachel Campbell for an internal view of St John’s Church, Penninghame

Third Prize:         Jack Norman for a photo of the modernist Tongland Power Station

Highly Commended

Toby Iglehart for his photo of Orchardton Tower

Maddison Wallace for her photo of Sweetheart Abbey

In the 16-25 age group, two prizes were awarded:

First Prize:           Roan Ballantine for a photo of the Coo Palace at Borgue

Second Prize:     Connor Bradley for a haunting internal view of Carnsalloch House near Kirkton

Thanks are due to the judges: Martin Robertson (Architectural Historian) and Allan Wright (Professional Photographer), to the Mill on the Fleet for accommodating the exhibition and prize giving, to Solway Heritage for financial assistance and to Wilko’s of Castle Douglas for donating two photo frames.

CLICK HERE to view all of the winning entries.