FORTH & BORDERS GROUP 39th Annual General Meeting



Speaking for Scotland's Buildings

Notice is hereby given that the 39th Annual General Meeting of the Forth & Borders Group of the Architectural Heritage Society of Scotland will be held online via Zoom on Tuesday 18 May 2021 at 6.00pm

As we did not hold an Annual General Meeting in 2020 due to the ongoing Covid-19 situation, this meeting will encompass two years. The Group's accounts for the years to 31 March 2020 and 2021 will be made available to members registering for the event (see below for details).

AGENDA

- 1. Introduction and Welcome
- 2. Apologies
- 3. Adoption of the minutes of the 38th Annual General Meeting held on 28 May 2019 (available to members registering for the event)
- 4. Acting Convener's Report
- 5. Treasurer's Report
- 6. Election of the Committee:

Yvonne Hillyard and Elizabeth Graham were due to be re-elected last year. They have continued to serve this year as Committee Members and have agreed to stand for re-election, along with Caroline McFarlane, Jocelyn Cunliffe and Jilly MacLeod, who were elected in 2018. Mathew Reilly has been co-opted onto the Committee and stands for election. The continuing members are Richard Austin, Adam Gillingham, Tom Parnell and Anne Tracy. Short biographies of the Committee can be found on the back of this sheet. Any member interested in being more involved in the work of the Group may wish to be considered for the Committee. If you would like to be proposed, or know of anyone who would, please inform the Treasurer, Caroline McFarlane (see below for details), and provide a proposer, the agreement of the person proposed, and a short biography by 14 May 2021.

7. Any other competent business

REGISTRATION

Please register as an online attendee of the AGM via the ticketing website Eventbrite (go to https://bit.ly/3t1geLQ or search 'Events' on the AHSS website for further details). A link and password will be emailed to you by Monday 17 May 2021, along with any reference documents.

QUESTIONS

If you would like to ask a question at the AGM, we would encourage you to submit it in advance, to be answered on the day. Please submit your question to the Treasurer, Caroline McFarlane, at caroline.mcfarlane@gmail.com by Friday 14 May 2021.

Please note: We have regretfully decided that we cannot offer a programme of visits or walks, or a party, this summer, but members are encouraged to look at the AHSS website regularly as we may be posting some self-guided walks or, if circumstances allow, impromptu 'live' guided walks.

AHSS National Office | 15 Rutland Square, Edinburgh EH1 2BE 0131 557 0019 | nationaloffice@ahss.org.uk | www.ahss.org.uk

FORTH & BORDERS GROUP 39th Annual General Meeting



PROPOSED COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR 2021-22

STANDING FOR ELECTION

Mathew Reilly is a recently qualified architect who has been on the Forth & Borders Cases Panel for over four years, serving for two as Convenor. He works for Benjamin Tindall Architects who work on many listed buildings across Scotland; he also leads heritage tours of the Assembly Rooms during Doors Open Days.

STANDING FOR RE-ELECTION

Yvonne Hillyard worked as librarian at RCAHMS and, in 2002, was appointed a Research Fellow at the University of St Andrews to develop the Dictionary of Scottish Architects project. She moved to Historic Environment Scotland in 2007 where she undertook listing work while continuing to maintain the Dictionary. She retired in March 2017 and has been associated with the Society since the mid 1970s. (Elected 2017)

Elizabeth Graham studied 18th-century French history and decorative arts, and has a PhD in 18th-Century British Architecture and a Graduate Diploma in Architectural Conservation, both from the University of Edinburgh. She has worked at the Cockburn Association, and has been on the AHSS Forth & Borders Cases Panel since 2005. (Elected 2017)

Treasurer: **Caroline McFarlane** is a retired solicitor. She has been involved with the Society for many years and is an elected member of the National Council. (Elected 2018)

Jocelyn Cunliffe is an architect in private practice. A member of the Forth & Borders Cases Panel and longstanding member of the Group Committee, she was Convener of the Forth & Borders Group 1999–2011 and an elected member of the National Council 2011–2017 and 2018–present. She is also Convenor of the AHSS National Conservation Committee. (Elected 2018)

Jilly MacLeod has an MA in Art and Architectural History from Birkbeck College, London, and has been a member of the Forth & Borders Cases Panel since retiring as a book editor in 2016. (Elected 2018)

CONTINUING MEMBERS

Secretary: **Anne Tracy** originally trained as a librarian and is now a semi-retired antique carpet restorer. She has volunteered at the Society for several years. (Elected 2019)

Tom Parnell graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 2003 with a degree in Architectural Studies. After four years at RCAHMS, he became a Heritage Consultant with Simpson & Brown for eight years, latterly as a team leader and associate. In 2016 he joined Historic Environment Scotland. Tom served on the Forth & Borders Cases Panel from 2004 until 2016, spending the last four years as Convenor. (Elected 2019)

Richard Austin is a long-standing member of the Society and has, at various stages, been a member of the Forth & Borders Group Committee and the National Council. Since its incorporation in 2015 Richard has sat on the Board of the Royal High School Preservation Trust. (Elected 2019)

Adam Gillingham is a retired property lawyer. During his legal career, he worked with an eclectic mix of Scottish landowners, through which he developed an interest in the extraordinarily diverse architecture of Scotland and a desire to help preserve our built heritage for current and future generations. (Elected 2019)